Good Things Come to Those Who Wait

April 1, 2014  |  Research News

Chariman’s Message

One of the most satisfying aspects of being a Chair is seeing junior faculty members receive recognition for their work.

First, at the American Academy of Dermatology Annual Meeting in Denver last month, Dr. Yvonne Chiu, (MCW Dermatology class of 2010), now Assistant Professor in Dermatology, won the coveted Dermatology Foundation Career Development Award in Pediatric Dermatology. She was one of only two pediatric dermatologists selected nationally for this prestigious award which provides over $150,000 in support over three years to the most promising academic pediatric dermatologists in the country.

Second, Dr. Dawn Siegel, Associate Professor, and a pediatric dermatologist/geneticist, received a prestigious, three-year R01 award from the NIH and the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal Diseases for her proposed research in uncovering the genetic basis of PHACE syndrome.

Given the status of funding in research, researchers across the country are waiting longer to get their first major NIH grants, and career development awards are also highly sought after because they allow clinician-scientists to get involved in research, to build up their portfolio of publications, and ultimately receive substantial NIH and other extramural funding.

The key to this story is that Drs. Siegel and Chiu have worked for many years to publish their preliminary findings and to develop the kind of national reputation it takes to receive funding these days. While good things do come to those who wait, I should say that, while waiting, success depends on the ability to keep publishing and to keep working despite very real challenges to our system.

Kudos to Drs. Siegel and Chiu and all the other members of our Department who do this every single day in addition to taking care of the most challenging skin diseases in our community.

Sam T. Hwang, MD, PhD
Thomas J. Russell Family/Milwaukee Community Dermatologists
Professor and Chair of Dermatology
Medical College of Wisconsin